top of page

Celebrating Horticultural Champions


The American Horticultural Society’s highest award, the Liberty Hyde Bailey Award is given to an individual who has made significant lifetime contributions to at least three of the following horticultural fields: teaching, research, communications, plant exploration, administration, art, business, and leadership.

Named after Liberty Hyde Bailey (1858–1954), horticulturist, educator and author. First awarded in 1958.

Every Year the American Horticultural Society announces the distinguished recipients of their AHS Great American Gardeners Awards.

The individuals, organizations, and businesses that receive these national awards represent the best in American gardening and horticultural. Each has contributed significantly to fields such as plant research, garden communication, landscape design, youth gardening, horticultural therapy, and teaching.

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page